1.9 Blocks (customizing your classroom)

Moodle organizes all of the information on the sides of the classroom into units called blocks. Blocks can be moved around and turned on or off to suit the needs of your classroom. If you click on “Turn editing on” at the top of the page, or as the top entry under the “Administration” block, you should see a screen something like this:

image

All of the blocks (“People,” “Activities,” “Calendar,” etc.) now have additional symbols showing. The symbols change the appearance or the location of the individual block. The symbols look like this:

image

The symbols do the following:

-The eye – if you click on the eye when it is open, it will shut. When the eye is shut, you can see the block (in this example, the calendar), but the students in the class cannot see the block. If the eye is shut and you click on it, it will open, and the block will be visible to the students again.

-The “X” – if you click this symbol, the block will be deleted from your class page. If you delete a block and want to show it again later, add it from the menu in the “Blocks” block, which is located at the bottom right of the page.

- The arrows – these arrows move the block in that direction. If you click on an up arrow, the block will move up the screen. If you click on a down arrow the block will move down. If you click on a right arrow, the block will move all the way across the screen to the right-hand side of the screen. If you click on a left arrow, the block will move to the left-hand side of the class screen. These arrows move blocks around the screen, and this can be repeated as many times as you wish.